Desert Region of California Travel guide
Holiday Experience
     North Coast
     Central Coast
     South Coast
        Palm Springs
        Death Valley

Desert Regions of California

California's 25,000 square miles of desert can be divided into two basic zones; the Mojave, or high desert, and the Colorado, or low desert. Each of these areas contains unique fauna and Joshua tree flora, as well as other natural resources that make them an important part of California's present and future. California's deserts are home to two National Parks (Death Valley and Joshua Tree), a National Reserve (East Mojave), and California's largest state park, Anza- Borrego.

The desert is a wonderful place to enjoy the outdoors and spend time participating in recreational activities. Many desert visitors go to the desert to camp, hike, fish, explore and to experience the unique environment only found in the American Southwest and its deserts. Other pastimes that are popular in the desert are, auto touring - off-roading, biking & cycling, desert caves and caving, hiking & climbing, horseback riding, desert photography, rock and treasure hunting, water sports - fishing, and wildlife viewing.

Places of interest:

  • Palm Springs
  • Death Valley National Park
  • Joshua Tree National Park
  • Mojave National Preserve
  • Anza Borrego Desert State Park

Sandals Holidays

far flung 5 pixels height, 150 pixels width